People

Principle Investigator

Dr. David Edwards

Prof David Edwards
Impacts of land-use change on tropical biodiversity
david.edwards@sheffield.ac.uk


Post-doctoral Researchers

Edicson Parra Sánchez
Effects of land-use change on orchids and epiphytes
edicsonparras@gmail.com


Simon Mills
Ecological consequences of environmental change
s.c.mills@sheffield.ac.uk


Matthew Hethcoat
Using remote sensing to detect selectively logged tropical forests
m.hethcoat@sheffield.ac.uk


Cindy Cosset
Ecology and conservation, especially in tropical ecosystems.
c.cosset@sheffield.ac.uk


Research Data Manager

Mike Massam
Research Data Manager for the Edwards Lab
mike.massam@sheffield.ac.uk


PhD Students

Emma Hughes
Global change and the future of avian diversity
echughes1@sheffield.ac.uk


Maria Wang Mei Hua
Minimising ecological and social externalities of tropical agriculture and expansion
mwangmeihua1@sheffield.ac.uk


Abdulkareem I. Ahmed
Quantifying, monitoring and minimising the negative environmental impacts of mining in tropical Africa
aiahmed2@sheffield.ac.uk


Catherine Finlayson
Managing climber cutting to protect biodiversity
cfinlayson1@sheffield.ac.uk


Jørgen Sand Sæbø
Carbon and biodiversity co-benefits in Colombia: Implications for conservation planning and implementation of REDD+
Jorgen.sand.sabo@nmbu.no


Gianluca Cerullo
The benefits and challenges of deploying different restorative interventions in the highlands of Southern Ethiopia
http://gianlucacerullo.com/


Oscar Morton
My PhD research focuses on the scope and value of the legal and illegal trade in wild collected orchids from Colombia.
omorton1@sheffield.ac.uk


Jocelyne Sze
My PhD research focuses on the scope and value of the legal and illegal trade in wild collected orchids from Colombia.
jssze1@sheffield.ac.uk


Dharma Sapkota
Impact of fire on plant diversity and aboveground carbon.
dpsapkota1@sheffield.ac.uk


Rob Davies
Land-use change and forest landscape restoration (FLR).


Chris Bousfield
The impacts of selective logging on avian diets and how logging induced dietary shifts might alter the structure of interaction networks in the forest, linking changes in food resources to changes in species abundance


Laura Dibb
Quantifying the impacts of the wildlife trade on tropical biodiversity
ldibb1@sheffield.ac.uk


Master Students


Former Lab Members – gone, but not forgotten!

Post-Docs

PhD


Masters