People

Principle Investigator

Dr. David Edwards

Prof David Edwards
Impacts of land-use change on tropical biodiversity
david.edwards@sheffield.ac.uk


Post-doctoral Researchers

Anne Cotton
Impacts of land-use change on soil in the Tropical Andes
anne.cotton@sheffield.ac.uk


Nelson Grima
Impacts of land-use change on socio-economics and cultural values in the Tropical Andes
Nelson.Grima@uvm.edu


Jacob Socolar
Biodiversity impacts of tropical land-use change across spatial scales
jacob.socolar@gmail.com


Edicson Parra Sánchez
Effects of land-use change on orchids and epiphytes
edicsonparras@gmail.com


Simon Mills
Ecological consequences of environmental change
s.c.mills@sheffield.ac.uk


PhD Students

Matthew Hethcoat
Using remote sensing to detect selectively logged tropical forests
m.hethcoat@sheffield.ac.uk


Cindy Cosset
Impacts of selective-logging on bird populations
CCPCosset1@sheffield.ac.uk


Emma Hughes
Global change and the future of avian diversity
echughes1@sheffield.ac.uk


Simone Messina
Effects of selective-logging on the stress physiology of birds
Simone.Messina@uantwerpen.be


Patrick CannonModelling of forest recovery after selective loggingpcannon1@sheffield.ac.uk


Maria Wang Mei Hua
Minimising ecological and social externalities of tropical agriculture and expansion
mwangmeihua1@sheffield.ac.uk


Emily Khazan
Impacts of land-use change on butterflies
ekhazan@gmail.com


Abdulkareem I. Ahmed
Quantifying, monitoring and minimising the negative environmental impacts of mining in tropical Africa
aiahmed2@sheffield.ac.uk


Catherine Finlayson
Managing climber cutting to protect biodiversity
cfinlayson1@sheffield.ac.uk


Maira Cardoso
Impacts of oil palm in the Amazon m.cardoso@sheffield.ac.uk


Jørgen Sand Sæbø
Carbon and biodiversity co-benefits in Colombia: Implications for conservation planning and implementation of REDD+
Jorgen.sand.sabo@nmbu.no


Gianluca Cerullo
The benefits and challenges of deploying different restorative interventions in the highlands of Southern Ethiopia
http://gianlucacerullo.com/


Oscar Morton
My PhD research focuses on the scope and value of the legal and illegal trade in wild collected orchids from Colombia.
omorton1@sheffield.ac.uk


Master Students


Former Lab Members – gone, but not forgotten!

PhD


Masters